THE VOICE OF HOPE

It's All Good Here ~ We create Hope with Words to bring out the "BLESSED" in you!

Rejection is a Relief

on February 7, 2013

Rejection is a Relief

Most writers keep some type of journal and I am no exception. Recently, I was reading through some prayers I was mediating over a couple of years ago and one of them caught my attention. I had gone through a period of rejection with a loved one and asked the Lord, “What good is a life of rejection?”

Rejection is a refusal to grant or accept something or someone as is. It is an act of casting off or discarding. In my life, I have been rejected in many situations including relationships, friendships, employment, etc. At times I thought even God rejected me! Joseph, David, Job, Naomi, all experienced so type of rejection in their situations. Rejection can leave people feeling hopeless and asking what’s wrong with me.

In my notes, it appeared I had an immediate revelation from Psalm 118:21-22. It says, I thank you for answering my prayer and giving me victory! The stone that the builders rejected has now become the cornerstone. This is the Lord’s doing, and it is wonderful to see.”

Even though the scripture reference is made about Jesus, at the time when I was reading it, God revealed that He chose me as an essential, indispensable representative of His kingdom. I have been constructed to carry the word and be a light. Just as the world rejected Jesus as His son and savior, of course people would reject me. The lesson is that Jesus was given the highest honor because of his rejection. Although I am not given an honor as such, I have seen the very people who rejected me get completely embarrassed and have to end up asking me for help or advice. The sad thing is that the person does even recall rejecting me to begin with.

I could choose to walk around feeling sorry for myself because I do not fit in or I’m not somebody’s first choice. I could walk around angry, have an attitude, and hate people. The truth is that I am not meant to fit in. I’m not meant to be accepted by this world. The world wants a new thing, the latest thing, the better thing, but without doing the right thing. I am uniquely designed to stand out. Nine times out of ten when people reject me, I am better off!

Praise the Lord that rejection is a relief. It is an honor to be rejected by people. Psalm 118:5-7 confirms that God has my back, “In my distress I prayed to the Lord, and the Lord answered me and set me free. The Lord is for me, so I will have no fear. What can mere people do to me? Yes, the Lord is for me; he will help me. I will look in triumph at those who hate me.

God is doing a wonderful work in me. In hindsight, we will soon realize that rejection is a wonderful blessing in disguise. It is a relief to be rejected. The burden is off of me and it comes full circle. The people who rejected us will soon find themselves in predicaments wishing they had accepted us. Embrace it and keep moving forward.

Pray With Me

Dear Lord,

Rejection is not an easy pill to swallow. It hurts deeply and causes anger. It is embarrassing. You know exactly how to turn rejection into a blessing. Help me trust you to know that you will make that rejection a blessing. You will cause the rejecting person to need me. You are doing wonderful things in my life. I trust You!


2 responses to “Rejection is a Relief

  1. Sheree McDavid says:

    GIRL, GONE AND PREACH THAT THANG!!!!!!

Leave a comment

Dr. Eric Perry’s Blog

Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

The Ministry of JC

Advocating serious joy in Christ.

THE VOICE OF HOPE

It's All Good Here ~ We create Hope with Words to bring out the "BLESSED" in you!

kacidiane

This is a story expressed through multiple forms of poetry.

G.E.M.S.

Empowering Souls