THE VOICE OF HOPE

It's All Good Here ~ We create Hope with Words to bring out the "BLESSED" in you!

Worthy of Imitation

on January 22, 2013

20130110-110447.jpg

My life is an example to many, because you have been my strength and protection. That is why I can never stop praising you; I declare your glory all day long. Psalm 71:7-8

Why do women feel the need to out-shine, copy, or compete with other women? Why do women feel the need to put other women down? Why do women feel the need to brag and boast about themselves? Women, naturally have a spirit of competition and a need to rise to the occasion, especially when they feel threatened. All throughout the Bible we can find examples of women against women for the sake of competing for whatever cause. There is always some kind of fight, war of words, or power play to trump another woman or her actions. Consider Sarah and Hagar (Genesis 16), Rachael and Leah (Genesis 30), Hannah and Peninnah (1 Samuel 1).

The truth of the matter is that women do not ask or trust God to give them what they want. They just go straight into a battle making their own way. James 4:1-3 sums it up, “What is causing the quarrels and fights among you? Don’t they come from the evil desires at war within you? You want what you don’t have, so you scheme and kill to get it. You are jealous of what others have, but you can’t get it, so you fight and wage war to take it away from them. Yet you don’t have what you want because you don’t ask God for it. And even when you ask, you don’t get it because your motives are all wrong—you want only what will give you pleasure.” Women start mini wars with each other to get what they want. These mini wars turn into battles and broken relationships. Good, close friendships and family bonds among women get broken over the need for power, attention, popularity, and satisfaction. The list of sin this entangles goes on.

One time I wrote a poem and read it to someone who I had known for many, many years. I felt safe reading it to this person. I was very self-conscious about my writing for a long time. In fact, I do not even think I let anyone else read this particular poem. The feedback that I received from the person was wonderful and I was told that I did a get a great job. The following week the same person called me to say they had written a poem and asked if I would like to read it. I read the poem by email and after I did, the person went on to say how they got inspired to write the poem (that had nothing to do with me sharing one the week before), how she took it to her job and read it to other people and how the staff director was going to frame it and hang it on the wall for everyone to admire. She continued to brag about the success of her poem and how great she thought she was because of it.

Suddenly, I realized that this was the person I read my poem too. The spirit of competition had reared its ugly head. This person probably was not even thinking about writing a poem until I shared mine. Of course, she had to make it seem as though she conquered my poem because people took notice of her work. Since this was not my first competing encounter with this woman, I asked God why does this particular person always feel the need to compete with me? I asked why does this person always have to try and out-shine me? What is with the bragging? Although frustrated with the incident I continued about my daily chores. It was petty right? Yes, but it was still annoyingly petty.

Believe it or not, God gave me the answer. He said you should be happy that the person is copying you and trying to out-shine you because that person is imitating you – you are worthy of imitation! I stopped what I was doing had the biggest laugh ever and a praise party to follow. I went to my Bible and studied it out. People are always seeking out examples to follow. God told me that I am a worthy example to be followed. I never thought of it like that. God showed me the difference in seeing the situation negatively as opposed to positively. That little part about the bragging is addressed in Proverbs 27:2 “Let someone else praise you, not your own mouth— a stranger, not your own lips.”

Now when I see this woman or anybody copying me or trying to compete with me I just laugh and smile. I can’t let people imitating me, intimidate me! I do the same thing with my kids. They are all girls and when they come to me and say one of them is copying the other, I just smile and say you are worthy of imitation. God has empowered me with the wisdom to recognize such battles of women against women. Eventually these women cannot own up to the imitation process. They end up making a fool of themselves. Such was the case for the Peninnah, Hagar, and Leah whose names were but a mist. They left a mark in the world of women scorned not adorned.

There are women worthy of imitation and things they do that we should incorporate in our lives for good. The things worthy of imitation should not be used for evil and certainly not for competing against one another. When you find a woman copying you or trying to put you in your place or putting you down just remember it does not have anything to do with you. It has to do with the war that is waging within them. Praise God, pray for the person, and remember – You are worthy of imitation!

Pray With Me

Dear Lord,

Thank you for making us beautiful women. We pray we can be just as beautiful on the inside as the outside. We pray that we would consider how we treat one another. May it be with kindness and words that help build each other up. We can naturally tear each other down out of fear, but those reactions are not of You. Calm the war that is waging within us. Please forgive and our hearts for the fear we experience when women seem to overpower us. Help us not retaliate. May we seek You, find you and be imitators of You so that we can inspire each other not intimidate each other. May we find peace in knowing you find us worthy to be imitated.

Leave a Reply

Thus Saith The Lord God

The writing of the Holy Bible continues published by GROY

THE VOICE OF HOPE

It's All Good Here ~ We create Hope with Words to bring out the "BLESSED" in you!

kacidiane

This is a story expressed through multiple forms of poetry.

G.E.M.S.

Empowering Souls

