THE VOICE OF HOPE

It's All Good Here ~ We create Hope with Words to bring out the "BLESSED" in you!

Trust Him

on January 6, 2013

credit to www.wallpaper4god.com

I have to confess that I have no clue why God does or allows some of the things He does. I try to rationalize it and explain it, but sometimes I just don’t get it! I have questions. I wonder why things are the way they are. Why did you make me this way? Why did you allow that situation to happen to me? Why didn’t I get that job, promotion, or lateral move? How come I wasn’t approved for that credit card, car loan, or student loan? Why can’t my life be like that of a certain celebrity? Why do other people have things that I don’t? Why am I afflicted with a disease, pain, or grief? How can you let the people I love suffer and die?

I have shared this story frequently but it applies yet again. The year my maternal grandmother passed away, I was nearly 3,000 miles away. God knew how I felt about my grandmother. She was my “Nan” when I was growing up. She was an active grandmother. Every chance she got she made sure to impress values and morals upon me. A few times she scolded me, but I always felt that she cared about me. I cherished our relationship. So, why did He call her home before I could get there? How come I didn’t get another visit with her? Why would He take something so valuable away from me? I wrestled with that for so many years after her death and I begged Him for an answer.

After several years passed and I had a few more life experiences, God finally spoke to me about watching someone die or pulling the plug on a life. It’s not easy to be in a room of a person who is transitioning home. It is not easy to let go of the people we love in the physical sense. He knew it would be better for me to work through my guilt and grief than to witness her trauma and taking of her final breath.

God knew He had to spare me of that painful moment even though I thought I was entitled to it. He never wanted me to have the memory of watching my grandmother die. He wanted me to remember the good times we had and the lessons she taught me. I found comfort in knowing that she was in a better place. I didn’t like it, but I had to trust that His way was right.

Trust means that there is a “confident reliance” in something or someone. It means that you can rely on someone and that person establishes a confidence with you and vice versa. It means you have a refuge you can rely on at any time. There is security among entities that build trust.

I trusted my grandmother who was one of the first people in my life who established that confident reliance with me. She was one of few people who I trusted at all. I have more than my share of reasons not to trust anyone. Honestly, trust is a virtue I am still learning how to discern and apply. There is huge difference between human and spiritual trust. Over the years, I have learned that a lifetime of broken trust among people does not measure against the trust God establishes with us. He expects to be our confident reliance.

God has been showing me why I should trust Him. He has shown me how rejection turns to blessing. He has shown me how disappointment leads to something better. He has shown me how grief turns to joy. He has shown me that broken hearts can heal. He has shown me that there is a reason and a season for everything. He has shown me that restoration can take place. He has shown me how love conquers all.

Going into the New Year, my 2013 theme will be based on Proverbs 3:5, “Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding” –Everything happens for a reason- Trust Him! My challenge for 2013 will be to surrender, trust in the Lord, and try not to operate by my own power. God has his reasons for everything. I may not agree but I am taking that step of faith to trust Him and believe that everything happens for a reason. My hope is in Him.

A few more reasons to trust God in 2013:

Jeremiah 17:5-7

This is what the Lord says: “Cursed are those who put their trust in mere humans, who rely on human strength and turn their hearts away from the Lord. 6 They are like stunted shrubs in the desert, with no hope for the future. They will live in the barren wilderness, in an uninhabited salty land. But blessed are those who trust in the Lord and have made the Lord their hope and confidence.

Nahum 1:7

The Lord is good, a strong refuge when trouble comes. He is close to those who trust in him.

Psalm 37:3-5

Trust in the Lord and do good. Then you will live safely in the land and prosper. 4 Take delight in the Lord, and he will give you your heart’s desires.5 Commit everything you do to the Lord. Trust him, and he will help you.

Prayer Starter

Dear Heavenly Father,

Please forgive us. We are not trusting people. We have had too many broken confidences to count. Therefore we feel the need to operate on our own power and in human spirit. Help us stop keeping that record count today. Give us a new heart that believes and agrees to trust You more in 2013. We pray that we rely on your strength, power, and presence more than we ever have. In doing so, our obedience will bring forth blessings and cancel the curses. May we commit all that we do to You and pray that we see the fruit of our labor that glorifies You. Going forward, we put our hope, confidence, and trust in You. In Jesus Name ~Amen~

Leave a Reply

Thus Saith The Lord God

The writing of the Holy Bible continues published by GROY

THE VOICE OF HOPE

It's All Good Here ~ We create Hope with Words to bring out the "BLESSED" in you!

kacidiane

This is a story expressed through multiple forms of poetry.

G.E.M.S.

Empowering Souls

