THE VOICE OF HOPE

It's All Good Here ~ We create Hope with Words to bring out the "BLESSED" in you!

Lost in Love

on August 19, 2012

Help me, O LORD my God! Save me because of your unfailing love. Psalm 109:26 NLT

When I was a teenager, this guy group came on the music scene and stole my heart away- New Edition. I will never forget where I was when I first heard Candy Girl. I just knew they were singing about me. (Don’t hate…lol) The group sounded like The Jackson Five at first. Soon after that first release, all of the crazy, love dazed teenagers, like myself, could recite Ronnie, Bobby, Ricky, Mike, and Ralph’s names in our sleep.

New Edition had some wonderful songs that I still love to listen to today: With You All the Way, Cool It Now, Mr. Telephone Man, Is it the End, just to name a few. The one song that hit me the hardest was Lost in Love. Again, they were singing about me right? They didn’t even know it.:)

Woman to woman, there were many men over my lifetime that I thought I was lost in love over. It didn’t matter if they were in real life or on the TV. A tall, handsome, good looking piece of eye candy was always my favorite treat. I know you must be thinking what in the world, oh Monica has issues! Sure enough I had issues alright. Truthfully, I had no idea what love was at all. Even growing up and becoming a woman of my own, I still had no idea what real love was. I knew what I thought love was. I had other people’s ideas planted in my head of what love was. Mary J was searching for it too; Real Love was one of my jams.

It was not until I learned about the love of Christ that love truly began to make sense to me. Over time, I had a new edition of my own – being lost in love with God. Little by little God began sweeping my heart away. I would lay awake at night and have little talks with Him. I started writing poetry to God and about Him. Then there were songs like I Love the Lord by Whitney Houston that I played over and over again. I began reading my Bible more than I ever had in my life. The scriptures started to make sense, my life and my purpose began to be revealed. I would pray and see my prayers answered. I started believing in miracles. I stopped watching soap operas and stopped talking to certain people. I sought after true changes for my life. God sent me friends, who sharpened me. I went from being lost in the world’s idea of love to finding the truth about love.

I can share from experience that developing a deep, loving relationship with God takes time. I had to be betrayed, manipulated, used, and abused by the so-called loves of my life before I could see and feel that God truly cares and loves me personally. I followed urges to be as ugly to people as they were to me or worse before I could embrace the love God had for me.

God has saved me countless times. God has set things up for my good even when the process to get to the good was frustrating for me. God has showed up and shown out on my behalf. He has been my offensive and my defensive coordinator in the spiritual war games. He is my refuge in times of trouble. He is attentive to my cries and counts my every tear. He wooed me out of the wilderness that I was living in for a long time. His love for a broken, faithless, adulterous woman like me is unimaginable. Through my tears, I thank him for never giving up on me even when I gave him good reason to.

No matter where you are in your walk with God, He has not given up on you. He wants everyone, including you to be saved. God doesn’t want anyone to be lost or perish. I hope that you will join me in becoming a lost in love testimony for God!

One response to “Lost in Love

  1. Chanteea says:

    God soooo loves you cuz!!! Neva forget that!

Leave a Reply

Thus Saith The Lord God

The writing of the Holy Bible continues published by GROY

THE VOICE OF HOPE

It's All Good Here ~ We create Hope with Words to bring out the "BLESSED" in you!

kacidiane

This is a story expressed through multiple forms of poetry.

G.E.M.S.

Empowering Souls

