THE VOICE OF HOPE

It's All Good Here ~ We create Hope with Words to bring out the "BLESSED" in you!

Live Life Like You Are Going to Die

on August 12, 2012

Living Life Like You are Going to Die

Psalm 90:12
Teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.

I truly like the movie The Bucket List starring Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman. Two unlikely people became friends, built a bond and traveled the world because they had something in common- life was getting short.

I thought about how Jesus lived his life. He knew he was born with a purpose. He knew he had a mission to accomplish. He made himself available to the lost and ministered to those in need. Although he encountered lingering controversy of whether or not he was the Messiah; Jesus died for his cause and with purpose. His legacy was defeating the enemy thus winning souls for God. Jesus gave people hope.

At some point over the last two years, I have had this nudging in my spirit about leaving a legacy. What legacy will I leave behind? What things would I like to do before I die?

My personal bucket list includes: publishing a book, traveling the world, seeing my children graduation from high school and college and start their own families. Do I dare say I want to see some grandchildren? I would like to see some friends and family dedicate their lives to the Lord. Those are just a few things I would like to personally witness.

The most important piece of my legacy that I want to leave behind when God calls me home is this: I want my children especially to know that I believe in God and I tried to teach and train them in the way they should go. Secondly, I want my children to look at my life and see that I was able to overcome so much to pursue my personal education goals and that they are never limited by circumstances or anything that anyone tries to keep them from doing. I want them to know that they can realize their dream. I want them to know they don’t have to give up easy on the hard things in life. I made it and so can they. Living the legacies of faith and hope are the most important things I can do.

Last week I turned 41. Some people never make it this far. I am grateful for the time God has given me to be with the people who matter the most to me. Now is the time to start thinking about how to live like I’m going to die. I respect that God can call me home at any time. He numbered my days from the beginning of time.

What legacy will you leave? How do you want people to remember you? What’s on your bucket list that you can start working on?

;

;

Leave a Reply

Thus Saith The Lord God

The writing of the Holy Bible continues published by GROY

THE VOICE OF HOPE

It's All Good Here ~ We create Hope with Words to bring out the "BLESSED" in you!

kacidiane

This is a story expressed through multiple forms of poetry.

G.E.M.S.

Empowering Souls

