THE VOICE OF HOPE

It's All Good Here ~ We create Hope with Words to bring out the "BLESSED" in you!

Anyone Who Had a Heavy Heart

on July 26, 2012

“Have compassion on me, Lord, for I am weak. Heal me, Lord, for my bones are in agony. I am sick at heart. How long, O Lord, until you restore me? Return, O Lord, and rescue me. Save me because of your unfailing love.” Psalm 6:2-4 NLT

One of my all-time favorite songs is Luther Vandross’s version of Anyone Who Had a Heart. The words are not so much what I want to focus on for my topic, but more so the title. As you see, I added the word heavy for emphasis, because my spirit is sensing a leading of some other heavy hearts that will encounter this blog.

I spent the last thirteen years of my life living in Georgia. God led my husband to move us there. In those 13 years, we acquired our first home and added two more children to our lot totaling us to a family of five. We added an amazing number of friends who became like family to us. We were a pillar in our neighborhood and local schools. We were truly blessed. Now, having left so much behind in recent months, I miss my house, my friends, my church, etc.

Believe it or not, those 13 years were the longest I had lived anywhere in my life. It is very hard to start over. After all the moves I have experienced in my lifetime, this recent one to California has been one of the hardest I can remember.

So far, I have had a number of personal challenges that if I sit back and dwell on them, I would be crying for a few days or weeks. Many times I thought, God, was this really a move from you? Lately, I wondered if I am where God intended me to be and if I am doing what He intended me to do. My motto at the beginning of the year was “Everything is for my good.” Then I wondered if that was true. From the questions alone, you can discern that my heart is truly heavy. Sadly, I had to face the fact that my faith has been shaken.

In attempting to uncover the reason for my present spiritual condition, one thing occurred to me: moving into unfamiliar territory makes a person quite vulnerable to challenges. It’s not just physical moves; it’s anything that we do not know how to handle personally. Losing a loved one, a job, a home, the change in circumstances drives us into survival mode and immediately attacks our faith.

At Satan’s request, Job came under attack and his entire world was changed forever. My heart is nowhere near as heavy as Job’s had been. Isn’t it true that the slightest shift in our hopes, dreams, and everything we have worked so hard for makes us question everything, even the presence of God? It’s ok because that is how God reminds us that we are human and we need Him at all times. After Job sat in the dirt, talking to his equally faith challenged friends, God came and attended to him and restored them all.

My challenge was to get past the heaviness of heart, have a little talk with Jesus, and strengthen my faith by planting God’s word in my heart. We are all going through our own challenges. We have the choice to go through them alone or let God take the lead. Imagine a world of “Jobs” pouring their hearts and complaints out to God, being prayed for and then being completely restored.

The wonderful thing about Job’s testimony was that God gave him even more than what he had lost in the beginning. God will multiply our lots too if we unload our heavy hearts before Him today, believe, and receive. A multitude of repentance and restoration would be a beautiful gift to God.

We are not alone in our struggles against disbelief and uncertainty. Talk to your friends, make their concerns your prayers, share your heart, and watch God perform some restorations right before your eyes.

 

Anyone who had a heart would surely take me in her arms and always love, love me, why won’t you?

Rest in Peace Luther

2 responses to “Anyone Who Had a Heavy Heart

  1. Mom says:

    My mother told me that I was like Job with many trials to face. She was right. I know I have pulled myself up so many times allways putting trust and faith in God in the name of Jesus. There is no man on earth that can fulfill my spirtual needs the way talking to God does. My children and granchildren uplift me and give me hope and strength.You my beautiful daughter are like your mother and all the strong women in our family… survivors strong and proud. We believe in God not man to help us to carry on. Men take so much from us and they are happy when they think they have kept us down…but we rise. stronger. confident. and wiser. It is the women in the world who make the family what it is. You have some pretty good stock in you just continue to have faith be strong love yourself and your family. teach your daughters the ways of our strong women. you know your mother loves her some Luther and you are surrounded by many hearts present and spiritually who have taken you in our arms and love you too. Mom.

Leave a Reply

Thus Saith The Lord God

The writing of the Holy Bible continues published by GROY

THE VOICE OF HOPE

It's All Good Here ~ We create Hope with Words to bring out the "BLESSED" in you!

kacidiane

This is a story expressed through multiple forms of poetry.

G.E.M.S.

Empowering Souls

