THE VOICE OF HOPE

It's All Good Here ~ We create Hope with Words to bring out the "BLESSED" in you!

PERSEVERING IN THE FACE OF DISCOURAGEMENT

on July 23, 2012

I would have fainted, unless I believed to see the goodness of God in the land of the living. PSALMS 27:13

This is my all time favorite scripture in the bible and when I become discouraged it is in those words I come to find hope.

In this day and time I’m sure it doesn’t take much to for a person to get discouraged. Just take a look around and you will see people who have lost homes, jobs, children, etc, you name it, it’s there, it’s happening and it doesn’t look good.
Sometimes you may not even have to look around all you have to do is look within……

My cousin Monica sent me a text on Friday, asking me how I was coming along with a book I had told her I wanted to write. She knows it is my desire to be an author and it was so ironic to me that she had asked me that because just earlier that morning I had been reading over a journal I had written in 2010 that talked about that very same thing. It had been 2 years ago since I had really written anything or even thought about that book. We encouraged one another to keep on writing. We texted for over an hour I guess, and by the time we were finished the idea for this blog was birthed.

I was excited, couldn’t wait to get home to get started. We had agreed that at least if we tag teamed we would have each other to hold accountable for sticking with our writing. So it is our plan to post a new blog at least every other day.

It was about 4 in morning when I woke up and checked my phone, Mo, as I call her, had sent me her first blog. Reality set in. We are really going to this, ok, I thought as I turned over and thought about what she wrote. All of a sudden my mind became overwhelmed with negative thoughts. “You can’t do this you know? Who is going to read it? It wont make sense, it will all sound silly and stupid.” They were subtle quiet thoughts so quiet they were more of a sinking nagging feeling then a thought. That’s how the enemy works, very subtlety.

That nagging feeling greeted me as I sat at the computer to get started. I didn’t know what to write, I had nothing, so that helped to feed that nagging feeling of “YOU CANT DO THIS!“ I so hate that feeling. “God, I said, what is this mess?” Why is it that I can get so motivated about writing one minute and within the next the wind is knocked completely out of my sails.” He brought to my mind the story of Nehemiah. GOD IS SO GOOD! Nehemiah had a job to do, he was going to rebuild the wall of Jerusalem and he had set his mind to do it but some enemies of his conspired together to attack them and create so much confusion that they would become discouraged and quit. Nehemiah had what you could call a “Nevertheless Spirit” He went before God, prayed and kept it moving in spite of the attacks. After I read this story I saw what has been happening to me all these years. Not just with my writing but with anything I set my mind to do. But unlike Nehemiah I fell for the confusion and the chaos the enemy created to get me distracted and discouraged so I would quit. That is until my eyes were opened.

This experience caused me to really look within myself and question how I could become so easily distracted from doing something that brings me so much joy. The answer…FEAR. I watched Akileeh and the Bee while putting together this blog and it was there I found my answer. It went a little something like this:

CHANTEEA,

Your deepest fear is not that you are inadequate. Your deepest fear is that you are powerful beyond measure. It is your light, not your darkness that most frightens you.’ We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we’re liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.

Right then and there I made my decision to press on even in the face of discouragement. It is my prayer that you find hope in these up and coming blogs. Maybe even a laugh or two but in any case we shall press on…

Chanteea L. Harmon

5 responses to “PERSEVERING IN THE FACE OF DISCOURAGEMENT

  1. momsweb says:

    As a writer/blogger myself, I can truly relate to your feelings. Been there, done that, got a few t-shirts! lol Blessing to you as you follow God’s leading to encourage others!

  2. I’m proud of you cuz! You did it and its wonderful how you shared from your heart. Keep up the great work!

  3. Susannne Foster says:

    Chanteea you can do this and you will do this. God already gave you everything you need to do this. Now go do it. Ask God to show you where the things are that you need to help you along to complete this project. I know you will do this and I will keep confessing it down here in Virginia and the devil is down here listening ( just thought I would remind you that he is lurking everywhere). You will do this! You will do this! You will do this!

    • chanteea says:

      I am soooo glad to hear from you! Thanks for the encouragement Sue! You, if anyone knows what this means to me! I need to print what you said so i can keep it before my eyes! love and miss you!!!!

Leave a Reply

Thus Saith The Lord God

The writing of the Holy Bible continues published by GROY

THE VOICE OF HOPE

It's All Good Here ~ We create Hope with Words to bring out the "BLESSED" in you!

kacidiane

This is a story expressed through multiple forms of poetry.

G.E.M.S.

Empowering Souls

