THE VOICE OF HOPE

It's All Good Here ~ We create Hope with Words to bring out the "BLESSED" in you!

Set Back or Sit Back

on July 21, 2012

Set back or Sit Back
Romans 5:2-5 NLT
Because of our faith, Christ has brought us into this place of undeserved privilege where we now stand, and we confidently and joyfully look forward to sharing God’s glory.3 We can rejoice, too, when we run into problems and trials, for we know that they help us develop endurance. 4 And endurance develops strength of character, and character strengthens our confident hope of salvation. 5 And this hope will not lead to disappointment. For we know how dearly God loves us, because he has given us the Holy Spirit to fill our hearts with his love.

Most people my age already have established careers and have known what they have wanted to do their whole lives. Not me. I’ve held many jobs in my life and so far I’m good at being a mom and in recent years have discovered a love for teaching.
Recently I moved to California. I had lived out here before but this time I’m in the northern part of the state. I must say it is beautiful here.
Over the course of my move, one aspect has been quite discouraging- job hunting. It seemed as though, every time I took one step forward; I would go two steps back. Maybe you can relate. Prior to the move; I was close to gaining a full time district teaching position in Georgia. I did all of the testing and all I needed was a job. I never got a job. Here in California, it will take me one or two years to fulfill the requirements for teacher certification depending on which avenue I choose.
I had hoped the progress, time, and money I invested in becoming a teacher in Georgia would not go to waste. My first thought was wow, what a huge set back.
I pouted for a few days. I sat around discouraged. I inquired of the Lord, why is it that every time I am so close to something I can never get to it? I have felt that not only in this job hunt, but in other areas of my life too. At that point, I had to sit back and truly do some soul searching. As usual after some time alone withGod- the bigger picture gets revealed.
Here are some hard truths I had to accept: I am so selfish. I center everything around what is convenient for me. I am prideful. I’m too good to start over or at the bottom. I need an attitude adjustment. As much as I would like, the world does not revolve around me.
Shame on me for taking so long to realize that God uses these frustrating situations to glorify Him. Maybe there is someone in one of these certification programs who needs a friend. Maybe I have more to learn about being a good teacher. Maybe I have to have a relatable experience so I can help the next person in this predicament. Maybe, well maybe, it’s something completely beyond what I can comprehend.
The bottom line is that I can view my issues as a set back or I can sit back and truly reflect, pray and receive the answers that God has for me. If I let fear, doubt, and uncertainty overshadow what I think I should have or where I think I should be; it could hinder me from glorifying God and fulfilling his purpose for me.
Forget the hurdles, the number of steps or even the directions of the steps. It just might be that God is not taking you forward or backward, but in a dance motion. Would you turn down a waltz with God? Declining His invitation would indeed set back something in your spirit. Sit back and receive all that God has for you today.

4 responses to “Set Back or Sit Back

  1. chanteea says:

    Awesome Job cuz! We are on our way! 🙂

  2. Earlyn says:

    Awesome! You make your plans but God will order your steps. Follow after Him expecting only great things. From what I see, you are teaching. Certified by the Father.

Leave a Reply

Thus Saith The Lord God

The writing of the Holy Bible continues published by GROY

THE VOICE OF HOPE

It's All Good Here ~ We create Hope with Words to bring out the "BLESSED" in you!

kacidiane

This is a story expressed through multiple forms of poetry.

G.E.M.S.

Empowering Souls

